Previous Page [Digital South Asia Library] Next Page

Imperial Gazetteer of India, v. 4, p. 47.

Graphics file for this page


Bombay', Bengal, and Agra are the four regulation Provinces.
The principal non-regulation Provinces are the Punjab, Burma,
Oudh, the Central Provinces, and Assam.
As stated in the last chapter, the old Presidencies of Madras The head-
and Bombay retain their Governors-in-Council, while Bengal, quarters
the United Provinces, and Eastern Bengal and Assam are admin- regulation
istered by Lieutenant-Governors. Business is conducted in the Provinces.
executive Councils of Madras and Bombay in much the same
manner as in the Council of the Governor-General. The
Departments are divided between the Governor and his two
colleagues, and important matters are dealt with by the Council
collectively. The Governor has the right of overruling his
Council in special cases. The Lieutenant-Governors are solely
responsible for the administration of their ProNinces, and their
powers are limited only by the law and the control of the
Supreme Government. In all Provinces, as mentioned in the
preceding chapter, questions of policy or of special importance
are submitted for the orders of the Governor-General-in-
Council, and the financial powers of the Local Governments
are limited by definite and strict rules. The Secretariats of
the Provincial Governments are divided into departments,
each under a Secretary with subordinate officers, as in the case
of the Supreme Government. Each of the principal depart-
ments of the civil service is under the charge of an officer who
is attached to and advises the Local Government. Frequent
tours of inspection keep him in touch with local work. The
principal executive departmental heads, outside the revenue
and general administrative departments, are much the same in
all the large Provinces. In Bengal they are the Inspectors-
General of Police, Jails and Registration, the Director of
Public Instruction, the Inspector-General of Civil Hospitals,
the Sanitary Commissioner, and the Superintendent of the Civil
Veterinary department. There are also Chief Engineers, for
Irrigation and Marine and for Buildings and Roads, who are
likewise Secretaries to Government. In nearly all the regulation
Provinces the revenue departments are administered, under
the Government, by a Board of Revenue. In Bengal, and till
recently in the United Provinces, the Board consists of two
members2 who are the highest officers in the administrative
Sind, which is a part of the Bombay Presidency, is however a non-
regulation area, and its Commissioner has somewhat larger powers than
those mentioned below as appertaining to the ordinary Commissioners of
2 A third member was added in 1902 to the Board of the United

Previous Page To Table of Contents Next Page

Back to Imperial Gazetteer of India | Back to the DSAL Page

This page was last generated on Monday 18 February 2013 at 16:20 by
The URL of this page is: