Previous Page [Digital South Asia Library] Next Page

Imperial Gazetteer of India, v. 5, p. 71.

Graphics file for this page


an Arts college, an artisan school, a Sanskrit tol, a dispensary, and
a jail.
Agashi.--Port in the Bassein tah/k of Thana District, Bombay,
situated in 19 28' N. and 72 47' E., io miles north of Bassein and
3 miles west by a metalled road from Virar on the Bombay, Baroda,
and Central India Railway. Population (901o), 8,506. The town
contains a school with 217 pupils. In the early part of the sixteenth
century Agashi was a place of some importance, with a considerable
timber and ship-building trade. It was twice sacked by the Portuguese-
in I530 and again in I531. In 1530 as many as 300 Gujarat vessels
are said to have been taken; and in I540 the Portuguese captured a
ship on the stocks at Agashi in which they afterwards made several
voyages to Europe. Agashi carries on a trade with Bombay, worth
annually about Rs. 4,000, in plantains, its dried plantains being the best
in the District. There is a Portuguese school here, and a large temple
of Bhavanishankar, built in I691. The bathing-place close to the
temple has the reputation of effecting the cure of skin diseases.
Agastyamalai (or Agastya-kutam).-A conical isolated mountain
peak in the southern portion of the Western Ghats, situated in 80 37' N.
and 77 I5' E., in the Neyyattinkara taluk of Travancore State,
Madras. It is locally known as the Sahya Parvatam and is 6,200 feet
high. The boundary between Travancore and Tinnevelly District runs
over it. It was formerly an important astronomical station, where two
series of observations were taken by Mr. Broun between I855 and i865.
Two rivers rise from this hill, the sacred TAMBRAPARNI running east
through Tinnevelly District, and the Neyyar flowing west through the
Neyyattinkara taluk of Travancore. The orthodox believe that the sage
Agastya Maharshi, regarded by modern scholars as the pioneer of Aryan
civilization in Southern India and the name-father of the hill, still lives
on the peak as a yogi in pious seclusion.
Agra Province.-The Subah or province of Agra was one of twelve
into which the Mughal empire was originally divided by Akbar. It took
its name from AGRA CITY, the imperial capital, and both city and
province were subsequently called Akbarabad. The Subah is described
in the Ain-i-Akbari as 175 kos long from Palwal (now in Gurgaon
District) to Ghatampur (Cawnpore District), and oo00 kos broad from
Kanauj (Farrukhabad District) to Chanderi (Gwalior State). It thus
included, in the present United Provinces, the whole of the Agra
Division, with Aligarh and half Bulandshahr District to the north, and
most of Cawnpore, Jalaun, and Jhansi District to the east and south.
On the west it extended over parts of the present States of Jaipur, Alwar,
Bharatpur, Karauli, and Dholpur in Rajputana, and Gwalior in Central
India. The province nominally survived till the end of the eighteenth
century, though Rajputs, Jats, Marathas, and the Pathans of Farrukhabad

Previous Page To Table of Contents Next Page

Back to Imperial Gazetteer of India | Back to the DSAL Page

This page was last generated on Monday 18 February 2013 at 16:20 by
The URL of this page is: